SMART Goals, Smart Walk

Image

How SMART are you when you prepare your personal goals?

 

This blog is not just about food, faith, and walking, but it truly is about walking for a cause in a SMART manner. In order to prepare for the walk on October 26, 2013, the amazing date of the Alzheimer’s Walk in the Nations Capital, I had no other choice but to create SMART Goal. SMART Goals are defined as: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant, and Time-bound.

I was presented with the opportunity to participate in the 1 mile walk or the 3 mile walk upon signing up for the walk. I wanted a challenge. Please remember that I am a beginner in this exercise world; however, I knew I had some time to prepare. So, I chose the 3 mile walk. In my preparations I created the following goals that met the SMART process:

Specific: Train to participate in the Nation’s Capital Alzheimer’s Association walk.

Measurable: I will walk three times a week, participate in cardio or strength training two times a week, and rest two times a week.

Attainable: Put exercise in my schedule as a must, by having a gym within 30 minutes from work.

Relevant: This goal is for me and my father.

Time-bound: Must train for at least 10 weeks and walk for 3 miles at the end of the ten weeks.

After making the list, I created my final goal in a sentence format for affirmation:

Final Goal: Train for 10 weeks, walk, cardio or strength five days a week, for a 3 mile walk on Saturday, October 26, 2013 at the Nation’s Capital for the Alzheimer’s Associations Walk which will be for learning about self and helping others with research for Alzheimer’s and Dementia, especially for my father.

What goal do you have that you would like to accomplish in a 10 week timeframe? Have you considered making SMART Goals? It is really easy to do. Why not try creating your goals, and share them with me.

Join my team by visiting: Walk to End Alzheimer’s

—–

© 2013 Jewel Williams

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR EZINE OR WEB SITE?

You can, as long as you include this complete blurb with it:

“Motivational Walker, Jewel Williams is your everyday wife, mom and daughter motivating men and women to Walk for a Cause-“Learning about Self, Helping Others”. Get more information about the cause and how you can join in the walk by visiting, http://walkingforacause.com.”

Categories: Fitness | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

