Birthing Thoughts

20130905-225956.jpg

Last week was my wonderful, glorious, and blessed birthday. I tried not to announce it to everyone, but it was leaked to many of my friends. I would get teary-eyed when anyone sang to me, because it is a milestone that is beautiful. A birthday is a celebratory event and can be honored in so many ways. Some make it a huge event some prefer to have it done subtly.

This year, I wanted to engage in a subtle fashion. I prayed a lot; gave thanks for so many things over the course of the past year and wanted to have this day as a “me” day. So that afternoon (after work of course), I decided to just ride around town. Get my favorite Mediterranean food from my favorite restaurant, and workout with my favorite music.

This doesn’t sound like a celebration to many, but as a reminder, things have changed in my life with my dad having dementia and my mom recovering from an illness.

Currently they are with me and my family and in that It was a celebration! A celebration of having the knowledge base, faith and willingness to know how to handle the various situations my family has encountered.

As I entered my home. I was greeted by all. And with a subtle reminders to dad why the celebration; and why the candles, he was extremely happy to learn it was my birthday. Just for one moment his face was so proud to have a daughter to celebrate her birthday. He is such a happy man, and he went with the flow celebrating my day!

It is difficult to see the progression of the disease, but there is celebration in that he, my mom, my beautiful daughter and amazing husband are here. We celebrate daily, but this day was a real birthday…birthing new thoughts if how to appreciate life.

——–

© 2013 Jewel Williams

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR EZINE OR WEB SITE?

You can, as long as you include this complete blurb with it:

“Motivational Walker, Jewel Williams is your everyday wife, mom and daughter motivating men and women to Walk for a Cause-“Learning about Self, Helping Others”. Get more information about the cause and how you can join in the walk by visiting, http://walkingforacause.com.”

Categories: Family | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

