Burn, Baby Burn

Walking for a Cause is my passion and thus, I have walked consistently for two months. No longer the two to three times a week thing. I am truly doing five to six times a week, but as explained in my reading materials, it is a good idea to add strength training or cardio. Recently you learned that I enjoy my Shaun T tapes. (I’ll talk about this more later!). However, I hadn’t stepped on an elliptical since the early two thousands (at least ten years ago).

Well, on the many occasions that I stepped in the treadmill I would walk and walk and walk and just LOOK at the elliptical. My girlfriend from high school told me it’s the machine that is helping her immensely with variations in her exercise routine. However, although she raves about it, I still just look at the machine. Even when watching my FAVORITE show Extreme Weight Loss Edition with Chris Powell, the shows host, he incorporates the elliptical among other equipment in the exercise routine. It looks even daunting when watching the contestants.

So, my equipment challenge for the week was not just the stationery bicycle, but now the elliptical. Oh the burn, baby it burned! I took it really easy, because I am a novice to the equipment, again. I keep encouraging myself on that darn machine to accomplish three minutes, then afterwards I would give myself a high-five. Well, tonight I got on the elliptical after tackling it earlier over the past two weeks and I made it to ten minutes. I am happy, but I was smart. I did seven minutes, got off and walked on the treadmill for ten minutes then did three minutes to feel the accomplishment. In about the next two months, I believe I will reach 20 minutes with more success regardless of the burn baby!

——–

© 2013 Jewel Williams

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR EZINE OR WEB SITE?

You can, as long as you include this complete blurb with it:

“Motivational Walker, Jewel Williams is your everyday wife, mom and daughter motivating men and women to Walk for a Cause-”Learning about Self, Helping Others”. Get more information about the cause and how you can join in the walk by visiting, http://walkingforacause.com.”

20130908-132306.jpg

Categories: Fitness | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

