Walk or Run

Image representing WebMD as depicted in CrunchBase

Image by None via CrunchBase

In the mist of reading articles, I ran across a walking verses running article. Before I share the article and my insight of the article, I must tell you that the quest to locate reading material other than work related has been inviting. My love for reading is not from my childhood like most state, I believe I must have been a late bloomer in the since that finally locating novels that sparked my interest had to have a little school. I’m a research buff and anything that has a bit of research in it, it draws me in.

So, this article, yes has research that is very interesting. If you have not, I encourage you to get WebMD. The magazine articles are so terrific, and they keep you on the edge of your seat because science is an ever-changing field.

From the September 2013 issue, Work it Out section, The Right Moves: Which is better a walk or run By Kara Mayer Robinson is the article for the week. Immediately I chose the type of exercise that I thought was best. Why don’t you take the poll below to see how many of you choose walk or run.

ANSWER:

“Both forms of cardio offer significant benefits. It depends on what your goal is.” Give your self a pat on the back if you answered walking or running. It depends on your goal. YEAH!

For example if your goal is to lose weight. You do not have to run. However, running does burn more calories. It puts you into the proper zone for when you are finished because your body is still burning calories. However, I learned that if I walk at a pace that is a 3.5, then I could receive the same benefits.

To learn more, download the iPad app for WebMD and look at the September 2013 issue. It has this and other exciting articles.

———–

© 2013 Jewel Williams

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR EZINE OR WEB SITE?

You can, as long as you include this complete blurb with it:

Motivational Walker, Jewel Williams is your everyday wife, mom and daughter motivating men and women to Walk for a Cause-”Learning about Self, Helping Others”. Get more information about the cause and how you can join in the walk by visiting, http://walkingforacause.com.”

Categories: Fitness | Tags: , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Walk or Run

  1. I like to think that no matter what you do it’s better than sitting at home on the couch!

    • You are so right! It is about the intent and the action of doing a form of exercise. Walk it or run, even if it is for 15 minutes.

      Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

