Is It Pain or Praise

Physical Fitness Instructors Course

Physical Fitness Instructors Course (Photo credit: Israel Defense Forces)

11 Now no chastening seems to be joyful for the present, but painful; nevertheless, afterward it yields the peaceable fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.12 Therefore strengthen the hands which hang down, and the feeble knees, 13 and make straight paths for your feet, so that what is lame may not be dislocated, but rather be healed.  -Hebrews 12:11-13 (NKJV) (1)

Fitness is a holistic action!  In order for me to be active and do the things that I do with my body such as walk, run, and stretch is for the faith that I have with a higher being.  The journey that I have taken to participate in my upcoming walk and to create a healthier me is painful at times and relatively uncomfortable for me to complete on the days that I have worked very hard and I am mentally exhausted.  So, just squeezing in the physically challenge of working out for thirty minutes can be dreadful.  However, once I put on the workout clothes I get a little excited; however, looking at the pavement or even the equipment can be challenging.

In the verse above, it speaks volumes to me about why I do what a do and who I am doing this for. This verse reminds me that this body is HIs temple is even more powerful, “…afterward it yields the peaceable fruit of righteousness to those who have been trained by it.” is what the workout should provide us mentally.  We are trained by reading and gaining insight of how to exercise daily; however, He…”make(s) a straight path for our feet to be healed”.  We are conditioning our body to be a better temple and to live what He has placed us here to do for others in the action.

May your journey to exercise or implement fitness be a two fold process and know that what you are doing is not just you, but given to us to fulfill a greater challenge and keeping our temple the way it is to live.

_____________________________

© 2013 Jewel Williams

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR EZINE OR WEB SITE?

You can, as long as you include this complete blurb with it:

“Motivational Walker, Jewel Williams is your everyday wife, mom and daughter motivating men and women to Walk for a Cause-”Learning about Self, Helping Others”. Get more information about the cause and how you can join in the walk by visiting, http://walkingforacause.com.”

____________________________

Related articles

Categories: Faith & Family | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Is It Pain or Praise

  1. Its amazing how intertwined our body, mind and spirit are isn’t it? When you lift up one area all of them end up being lifted.

  2. I find that exercise helps me function so much better throughout the day…and life in general. I work really hard to include it in my daily routine and find that I enjoy it when it becomes a habit.

  3. Thanks for the pingback. I live in Colorado Springs and love taking walks in the Garden of the Gods. There is something about being OUTSIDE EXERCISING that lifts me. I have never been into tread mills that sit in front of a TV. God Bless you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

