Chard Please

20131018-041805.jpg

Hmmm, you shall say this is? The look on my parents face was amazing. I had cooked Swiss chard for the first time, and wanted to have them try it. I knew if I gave it to my husband and daughter the reaction would have been the same but the look wouldn’t have had the same feel. Mom is a person who is willing to try my “new” foods, and in her tasting process she doesn’t like to hurt my feelings. This time she spoke up and asked that I give more details about this very tasty vegetable.

After chewing this vegetable I knew something went horribly wrong. Let me take you back a few weeks…

I was in grocery store walking through the produce aisle and saw this package of a chard mix. Always curious about new vegetables, I read the directions on the back of the package on how to make prepare it.  I couldn’t wait to make it for the family and once complete, To may surprise, it came out well. The family ate it, and soon, I got the grand idea that I could make the tasty dish again, of course with the same recipe (I had cut the recipe off of the bag) without using the prepared bag. In case you are asking, yes the bag was the pre washed (remember to wash the pre-washed bag) and pre cut bag of Chard Mix.

I got the real deal…Swiss chard in the raw and began to wash, chop and heat the pan. Pulled out all the spices and broth from the recipe. In the mix, we had the stalk…however, not as much as I put in from my bunch. That is what went wrong.

You’ve got to get the nutrient value of this amazing vegetable, Swiss chard

How to prepare Swiss chard?

1 large bunch of Swiss chard
1/2 onion finely chopped
2 cloves of garlic cut (not fine)
1tsp of olive oil
1 pad of unsalted butter
1/2 cup of vegetable broth
1/8 tsp of red pepper
1 dash of original Mrs. Dash (optional)

Prepare a pan with olive oil and the pad of butter Place the onions and garlic in to lightly sautéed’. Add the touch of red pepper. Cut the Swiss chard in large chunks but take the bottom half of the stalk and discard after washed. Then, add to the sautéed mix. After about a minute add the vegetable broth. Cook on low for about two minutes. Stir. Then, cover for five minutes or until tinder. Then, serve.

Assignment: Now that you have read my goof up on preparing this nutrient values vegetable. Have you ever fixed Swiss chard? What did you find challenging about cooking Swiss chard? If you haven’t fixed Swiss chard, is it because it looks intimidating to prepare?

___________________________________________

© 2013 Jewel Williams

WANT TO USE THIS ARTICLE IN YOUR EZINE OR WEB SITE?

You can, as long as you include this complete blurb with it:

“Motivational Walker, Jewel Williams is your everyday wife, mom and daughter motivating men and women to Walk for a Cause-”Learning about Self, Helping Others”. Get more information about the cause and how you can join in the walk by visiting, http://walkingforacause.com.”

Related articles

Categories: Healthy Meals | Tags: , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Chard Please

  1. I need to try it. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

