Egging You On To Eggplant

eggplantThere are so many vegetables that can be used in our everyday meal selections, but one of my “bestest” is eggplant.  What I would like to do is try to recreate an eggplant appetizer that I had over the holidays, because it was right up my alley and was really light.

1 eggplant

2 cups of bread crumbs (no seasoning)

1 cup of grated parmesan cheese

3 eggs

1 can of diced tomatoes

1 can of tomato sauce

chopped fresh basil or parsley* 1 clove of garlic*

* Or use Italian Herb Mrs. Dash

Cut the eggplant into 1/4 in slices.  In bowl. mix the eggs with the Mrs. Dash (a few shakes).  Dip each eggplant slice in the egg mixture and cover the dipped slice in bread crumbs.  With each slice, place in the frying pan with olive oil and cook on both sides until brown on each side.  In your favorite casserole dish layer the cooked pieces of eggplant at the bottom.  Then, spread the diced tomatoes over that layer and a sprinkle of parmesan cheese.  .  I placed a few slices of Swiss cheese on top then repeat the layer until you get to the top of the dish.  On the last layer, place the parmesan cheese on top.  For decoration, I placed a few of the fried eggplants on top.

Categories: Healthy Meals | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Egging You On To Eggplant

  1. Another great post. Sounds like a wonderful addition to anyone’s training plan.

  2. Hi, a great recipe that I am bookmarking and will post a link on my weight loss blog on the maintenance session. (next month though as this month I am doing 31 tips 🙂

    Next month I will do 28 recipes that impressed me. Full credit, of course, will be given.

    Thank you!!!

    • Thanks so much Liliana! I don’t use salt, but this can be an option and you can also suggest someone to “spice” up the recipe too!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

