Celery Coooked to Perfection or Not

English: Celeriac Français : Céleri-rave

English: Celeriac Français : Céleri-rave (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have had a celery root in my refrigerator for about a week.  I don’t know if I’m scared of it or if it is scared of me, but it’s just sitting there awaiting the day to be placed in a pot and cooked.

Have you ever seen a celery root?

Celery root reminds me of a turnip.  Not the greens, but the turnip in that it can be a great substitute for a potato.  It is packed with flavor and creates a hearty little dish.  However, for some reason, I wanted to create a “different” dish with my celery root…a soup.  As I continue to ponder over what I want to create, I decided to read a little more so that I can no longer use it in a soup like meal.  The word “raw” was used in two of the articles that I read, and it really began to intrigue me, because there is nothing like having a vegetable raw.

So what are the nutritional facts about celery root?

“1 cup= 66 calories, 2.3 grams of protein, 0.5 gram of fat, 14.4 grams of carbohydrates and 2.8 grams of total dietary fiber, according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture National Nutrient Database.”

How have I decided to use my celery root?

I will try it raw in my salad. I really love to eat salads that have just a little crunch that is not the lettuce or mixed greens.  Thus instead of using “croutons as the “topping” just a few small shavings of celery root.

What new vegetable are you willing to try? 

Enhanced by Zemanta
Categories: Healthy Meals | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

