Walking For A Cause With A Mission: At The Grocery Store

 

Labeling for products that meet the USDA-NOP s...We have a list or we don’t have a list, but regardless of the list we (or at least most of us) go grocery shopping.  Yesterday’s venture was a little different because I have been courage by so many of my friends to try organic. I buy organic here and there, but this time (still looking at cost) I bought organic and needless to say, it was a lot of fun.  Now this isn’t the first time, but over the course of the past month, I have been buying organic eggs.  My husband is totally amazed by the eggs in that when he cooks them (or prepares them) for his meal, he has been impressed with the flavor.  He trusts me in what I buy, but he really didn’t understand why they tasted so good and were so filling.

Let me fill you in about how and why I Walk for a Cause in the grocery store.  I have a sensitive tummy.  I love food, but there are times when the food doesn’t really like me.  There is a story behind that, but in short, my eating habits have had to change over the course of my life.  Most recently, my walk in the grocery story has been the parameter of the store.  I try not limit the amount of foods that I purchase in boxes and in the center of the store.  Trust me it is really hard, but it is worth every minute.  So, as I cruise the store I get the fresh vegetables, fruits, meats (organic), dairy, and from there there really isn’t much left.

What was different about yesterday?

I was on a mission to put something different in my tummy than the usual, but I couldn’t do anything too fancy.  SMOOTHIE!  But how would this smoothie be different from the others?

1 Banana (organic)

1 orange (organic)

1/2 cup of blueberries (organic)

1 cup of Kiefer

1/2 cup of coconut water (read the label…no sugar added and no extra ingredients)

Yep! You have it!  I have a few electrolytes, probiotics and great fruits for the mind.

Assignment:  Next time that you decide to walk into a grocery store, challenge yourself to buy two food items that are organic or different from the norm.  This way your mission is to walk with a cause to increase your knowledge-base of different foods!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Categories: Healthy Meals | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

